01
Sep
15

10K DAY

I am writing this story on the evening of September 1, 2015. Twenty-seven years, four months and 16 days ago tomorrow – that is, 10,000 days ago tomorrow – I got my bone marrow transplant for leukemia. This is a milestone which I look at in wonder, and somehow never doubted that I would get this far.
As a senior in high school, I was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia. I had chemotherapy for around a year, staying in remission until the late fall after I finished chemotherapy. After my bone marrow was harvested, I had more chemotherapy and full body radiation to put me back in remission and suppress my bone marrow. Then, I got my washed, radiated and cleaned bone marrow back. Six weeks later, I was discharged from the hospital. Five years later, I never saw the inside of University of Virginia Hospitals again.
The recovery of my bone marrow during that six weeks was a living hell. Aching muscles, mouth sores, fatigue, loss of appetite, diarrhea all combined with a wicked sense of boredom, a longing for freedom and a pinch of depression. But I must say this, God never walked with me through the battle. He put me on his shoulders and carried me the whole way. That was was kept me going with a sense of optimism.
Monuments are an important part of every culture in the world, whether they be modern or ancient. We build monuments to our great American leaders to recognize their courage and dedication. Statues are built to many great military generals who paid great prices defending their country with their very lives. Great movements and happenings are identified with a marker or a plaque. Even in the Bible book of Joshua, Israel built a monument of 12 stones at the banks of the Jordan River as a memorial to their crossing the river after God cut off the raging waters (Joshua chapters 3-4).
I must share my memorial – My 10K Day – as a testimony to God’s goodness to me. It is an understatement to say that He has blessed me. When I see so many other people dying from treatments for blood cancers, it humbles me that God has spared me these 10,000 days. Sometimes I stop and ask God why I survived, when it seems that there are so many other people more deserving of life than me. But He consoles me by kindly, lovingly, mercifully letting me know that He knows the way that I take (Job 23:10) and that He has plans to prosper me, and give me a hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11).
10,000 days. Oh, Lord, please tell me what did I do to deserve all this, and heaven too! Thank you, God! Praise your holy name!

0 Responses to “10K DAY”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

