13
Aug
15

COMIC BOOK CON

What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin so that grace may increase? May it never be! How shall we who died to sin still live in it? Or do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ Jesus have been baptized into His death? Therefore we have been buried with Him through baptism into death, so that as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life. For if we have become united with Him in the likeness of His death, certainly we shall also be in the likeness of His resurrection, knowing this, that our old self was crucified with Him, in order that our body of sin might be done away with, so that we would no longer be slaves to sin; for he who has died is freed from sin. Now if we have died with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with Him, Romans 6:1-8
Growing up as a kid I loved to read comic books. My mom hated the idea, but dad had a little softer heart to the notion. When I first started reading them, I had the idea that the stories were contained in one issue. It did not take long to realize that was usually far from true! There were usually story arcs that took two, three or four issues to complete.
Once I wised up to the ways of the cruel world that wanted to do nothing more than squeeze out every quarter they could, I figured out a little scheme. I call it my comic book con. If I got a comic that was two or three issues in the story arc, I would go back to the 7-11 that got all my dad’s comic book money and would probably find the previous issues still on the rack, which were usually two or three months old. I would ask dad if I could carry 30 cents in my pocket to buy them, making him think that I was wanting to look like the consumer and approach the cashier personally. I would bring the comics up to the counter, attended by the same guy who always seemed to be working when dad and I went. I would put on my 6-year-old puppy dog eyes and explain that the books were months old, and that nobody would probably buy them anyway, so could he knock off 10 cents for me. It always worked! Two comics for 30 cents!
The truth of the matter was that I was trying to fulfill my own selfish desire at for a cheap price. It is sad to say, put Christians can tend to be the same way with God.

Our attitude to sin should be that we hate it and that we shun it in every way. But many have adopted an attitude of “once in grace, always in grace.” While the Scripture does tell us that nothing can separate us from God’s love (Romans 8:38-39), too many of us want to use “cheap grace.” We want to live like we want to and flippantly say, “once in grace, always in grace.” Then we want to look up at God with our spiritually immature puppy dog eyes and claim His forgiveness. 
We are told, “Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap,” (Galatians 6:7). Further, we are not to live in sin anymore, since we are supposed to be spiritually dead to it. Should we keep on living the way we want to so that we can get more and more grace? “May it never be!”  Our reasoning is faulty. 
Let us determine in our hearts to be examine our attitudes and motives toward sin, and work to align our attitudes to be more like God’s attitude.

0 Responses to “COMIC BOOK CON”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

