05
Apr
15

A STORY OF GRACE

“But by the grace of God I am what I am…” – 1 Corinthians 15:10

When I hear the words “I am what I am,” my mind cannot help but wader back to my childhood, where I spent countless hours in front of a television set.  After school, I would typically procrastinate on my homework by tuning in to a local cartoon show, “Mr. Cartoon”.  One of the cartoons that was regularly shown was “Popeye”, the gravely voiced, smallish, spinach eating sailor who always seemed to save the day.  He was a humble man who just wanted to make his way in life.

In the verse we examine, we see Paul expressing the sentiment that perhaps all Christians striving to mature probably have felt.  In the preceding verses, Paul laments that he is the least of the apostles, recalling his persecution of the church.  However, he gives credit to God for where his life has brought him.

Paul expresses that it is by the “grace of God” that he is who he is.  A man who many would regard as one of the greatest apostles, missionaries and preachers of all time looked in the mirror and could only come to the conclusion that he was a product of God’s grace.  Grace has been defined as God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense.  As adopted children of the true living God, we all are what we are by the grace of God, humbly recognizing that fact.

All praise to God for His eternal, undying grace!

0 Responses to “A STORY OF GRACE”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

