03
Jun
10

IT CAN’T BE DONE

For as many as are of the works of the law are under the curse: for it is written, Cursed is every one that continueth not in all things which are written in the book of the law to do them. – Galatians 3:10

I love to try to live by, and honor, the laws of my community, county, state and country.  I count it as a privilege to do my best to be a law-abiding citizen, in spite of my lead foot.

In my 41+ years as a citizen of the state of West Virginia, if I strived every day of my life to keep every single law that is on the books, that would be quite a feat.  If I were able to do so, however, I do not think that our governor would show up at our doorstep to give me a big, heavy medal for that accomplishment.  But if I did keep every single law, every day of my life, and just once drive by a trooper going 80mph – guess what?  I am going to get a ticket.  It does not matter if I have kept every law all my life.  By virtue of the fact that I broke that one law that one time makes me a lawbreaker.  And the trooper will not give me a medal for my past accomplishments, but he will give me a ticket for my transgression.

In like form, we can try to do our best to keep every letter of the law.  But we will never get an award or reward for keeping it, because eventually, we will break the law.  As the Bible tells us, “All your righteousness is as filthy rags.”  And even if we were able to accomplish such a huge feat, when we would break the law, and that will cause us to be a lawbreaker.  And we would not receive a reward for our past accomplishments, but we will receive punishment for our transgression.

We must realize that we cannot keep the law (Romans 3:23).  We are all under the curse.  But Jesus took on our curse and redeemed us from our own sin so that we can have the privilege of having a relationship with Him, and have the honor to serve, glorify, and praise Him.

“Christ hath redeemed us from the curse of the law, being made a curse for us…” Galatians 3:13.

0 Responses to “IT CAN’T BE DONE”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

