17
May
09

WATCH OUT, GOD WILL PROVIDE! (5/10/09-5/16/09)

WEEKLY DEVOTIONAL – WEEK OF MAY 10 TO 16, 2009

GOD WILL PROVIDE

And Abraham said, My son, God will provide . . .  Genesis 22:8

At one point in my life, my first wife had been in hospitals for various progressive reasons.  First she was in Charleston, WV for a week, then we had her transferred to Cleveland, OH for about a month.  After that, she was sent to a hospital in Huntington, WV, and then was in a rehab hospital in Barboursville, WV, which is around 50 miles from our house.

On an average day, I would take my daughter to school, then go to work, about 20 miles away.  My mother in law would  pick up my daughter from school and take her to visit my wife.  After work, I would go get our daughter, visit, and take her home for bed.  All totaled, I probably traveled about 140 miles on an average day.  Needless to say, I’d loved to switch my 401 K to some oil company stocks.

The car that I was driving at the time was an old Chevy Lumina from the last century that has enough mileage to have driven me to the moon.  It had been a good car, and we have done all the scheduled maintenance to keep it running well.  When it was brand new off the showroom floor, it got 24-25 miles per gallon.  In later years, that figure has gone down to about 21-22 mpg.

At that time, though, I had noticed the milage improving.  At one fill-up, I calculated the milage, and came to a figure of 27 mpg.  I double checked the milage and gallons pumped and recalcualted.  It was still 27 mpg.  I dismissed it as being wrong somewhere, perhaps adding gasoline and forgetting to reset the tripometer.  When I filled it up the next time, it was at 29 mpg!  This time, I knew for a fact that I had not added any gas, and I double checked the figures again, arriving at the same result.

In that short time span, I had milage at up to 30 mpg, and the lowest that it had been is 24 mpg!  This comes from a 12 year old car rapidly rolling way past a quarter of a million miles.  And don’t forget that this same car got 24 mpg when brand new, and had gotten 30 mpg!

It is in very strange, unexpected and appropriate ways that God provides for us when we least expect it.  Abraham was asked by God to sacrifice his only, promised son as an offering to Him.  Abraham had faith that God would provide, but I am sure he and Isaac never expected to find a ram caught by his horns in a thicket as God’s provision.  It was a strange, unexpected and appropriate way that God provided for him.

It was a Psalm writer who said, “I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken, nor his seed begging bread.”

When you atch out, because God will provide!

0 Responses to “WATCH OUT, GOD WILL PROVIDE! (5/10/09-5/16/09)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

